It’s easy to send a message to the wrong person in a hurry and feel humiliated about the mistake. Or, we send a message to a loved one in a hurry, only to regret it afterward. With iOS 16, iPadOS 16, and macOS 13 Ventura, we won’t have to deal with this problem anymore while sending messages using iMessage.
In light of popular messaging apps like WhatsApp already having this capability, the option to resend texts on iPhones was long overdue. Undo send is now available in iMessage thanks to Apple’s newest mobile and desktop OS upgrades.
Please read this extensive instruction to discover how to unsend messages on your iPhone, iPad, and Mac if you have installed the iOS 16 developer beta or macOS Ventura developer beta.
Also Read- How to Delete Photo Albums on iPhone
Unsend iMessages on iPhone, iPad, and Mac (2022)
Things to Keep in Mind Before You Unsend iMessages
Before starting, you need to be aware of some limitations to the Undo Send feature of iMessage. You can follow the next steps if you’re already aware of these limitations. The most important things to keep in mind are:
- As mentioned in the previous paragraph, the “Undo” or “Undo Send” feature requires iOS 16, which is currently in beta and will be available to the general public in autumn. It also works with the most recent iPadOS 16 and macOS Ventura beta updates.
- If you delete messages to someone with iOS 15 or earlier OS versions, it will not be erased for the recipient, but they’ll be able to see it in the conversation.
- If the person receiving the message is running iOS 16, they will receive a notification that an email was not sent. This means they’ll quickly realize that you deleted the message from the conversation. If they did not be able to see the preview before the message was delivered initially, they won’t be able have any idea about the message.
- Another issue can be found in the “Undo” or “Undo Send” feature is only available for as long as 15 minutes after making the send if it’s been longer than 15 minutes since the message was transmitted and you are not allowed to remove the message to everyone. If you don’t discover the error and rectify that error before your message can be seen by others, you aren’t able to take action other than regretting the decision.
How to Unsend Messages on Your iPhone and iPad
After getting the fundamentals already out of the way, Let’s look at how to delete messages from the iMessage app for iPhones and iPad. Here’s how to do it:
- Using an iPhone or iPad, you can open the messaging application and start the conversation thread.
- Find the message you wish to unsubscribe from. Press and hold on to the message and select ” Undo Send” in the pop-up menu of context. There is no option to delete the message on an iPhone if you had sent it more than 15 minutes in the past.
- Then, voilà! A tiny animation that shows the message bubble burst will be displayed, and it will then disappear. Additionally, you’ll be able to read an alert message stating: “You unsent a message.”
How to Unsend Messages on Your Mac
Eliminating a message sent to everyone involved in an iMessage conversation is equally easy in macOS Ventura. This is how:
- To begin, launch the Messengers app to your Mac. Next, open the thread of conversation.
- Right-click on the message that you want to remove for all. After that, select ” Undo Send” Now and click ” Undo Send” in the context menu.
- Now you’re done! On the iPhone and Android, you’ll see the bubble of messages explode and disappear when you unsubscribe the text. It will be replaced with an alert that reads, “You unsent a message”.
Delete Sent Message for Everyone on iPhone and Mac
That’s all you need to know about the new iMessage undo send capability introduced in iOS 16, iPadOS 16, and macOS Ventura. Even though there aren’t many new features in the Apple Texts app, the ability to edit and erase accidentally sent messages on iPhone and Mac is a welcome addition. On the other hand, the new iMessage features have received mixed reviews. Please share your thoughts in the comments section below.